Gideon-Anders

Board of Directors

HAC’s board of directors includes representatives of private industry, government, and public and nonprofit housing agencies at the national, state, and local levels.

Members (including organization, city, state, and e-mail):

Gideon-Anders

Gideon Anders

National Housing Law Project
San Francisco, California

gideon@ruralhome.org

andy-bias

Andy Bias

Wichita, Kansas

andrew@ruralhome.org

laura-buxbaum

Laura Buxbaum

Coastal Enterprises, Inc.
Brunswick, ME

laura@ruralhome.org

Bobby-Calvillo

Robert Calvillo

Affordable Homes of South Texas, Inc.
McAllen, Texas

robert@ruralhome.org

Peter-Carey

Peter Carey

Board Chair

Visalia, California

peterc@ruralhome.org

Dave Castillo web

Dave Castillo

Native Capital Access
Tempe, AZ

dave@ruralhome.org

davec@ruralhome.org

Sandra-Ferniza

Sandra Ferniza

Phoenix, Arizona

sandra@ruralhome.org

Ninfa-Gutierrez

Ninfa R. Gutierrez

KDNA Public Radio
Yakima, Washington

ninfa@ruralhome.org

Ilene-Jacobs

Ilene Jacobs

California Rural Legal Assistance
Marysville, California

ilene@ruralhome.org

Lipsetz-7237-small

David Lipsetz

Housing Assistance Council
Washington, DC

david@ruralhome.org

tom-manning-beavin

Tom Manning-Beavin

Frontier Housing
Morehead, Kentucky

tom@ruralhome.org

twila-martin-kekahbah

Twila Martin-Kekahbah

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa
Belcourt, North Dakota

twila@ruralhome.org

Maria-Luisa-Mercado

Maria Luisa Mercado

Board President

Lone Star Legal Aid
Galveston, Texas

maria@ruralhome.org

Picotte

Bill Picotte

Gila River Indian Community
Maricopa, AZ

william@ruralhome.org

andres-saavedra

Andres Saavedra

Board Vice President

Rural LISC
Washington, D.C.

andres@ruralhome.org

naomi-scipio

Naomi Scipio

Central City Realty
Columbia, South Carolina

naomi@ruralhome.org

Irene-Sikelianos

Irene Sikelianos

Albuquerque, New Mexico

irene@ruralhome.org

rep-bennie-thompson

Bennie Thompson

U.S. House of Representatives
Bolton, Mississippi

bennie@ruralhome.org

Dazetta-Thorne

Dazetta Thorne

Seventh District Pavillion, Inc.
Crowley, Louisiana

dazetta@ruralhome.org

Winter

Andrew B. Winter

Twin Pines Housing Trust
White River Junction, VT

andreww@ruralhome.org

Connie Wright web

Connie Wright

Wells Fargo Housing Foundation
Atlanta, GA

connie@ruralhome.org

Annual Report 2018

About HAC

What is HAC?

The Housing Assistance Council (HAC) has been helping local organizations build affordable homes in rural America since 1971. HAC assists in the development of both single- and multi-family homes and promotes homeownership for working low-income rural families through a self-help, “sweat equity” construction method by emphasizing local solutions, empowerment of people in poverty, reduced dependence, and self-help strategies. HAC offers services to public, nonprofit, and private organizations throughout the rural United States and maintains a special focus on high-need groups and regions, such as: Indian country, the Mississippi Delta, farmworkers, the Southwest border colonias, and Appalachia.

HAC is a nonprofit corporation located in Washington, DC with regional offices in the southeast, midwest, and southwest.

HAC’s Mission

The mission of the Housing Assistance Council is to improve housing conditions for the rural poor, with an emphasis on the poorest of the poor in the most rural places.

2018 Annual Report

Annual Report 2018HAC is pleased to present the 2018 Annual Report, which looks back at our accomplishments and those of our partner organizations over the last year.


Download HAC’s brochure

Read about HAC’s History