The most valuable asset of the Housing Assistance Council has always been our staff – or, as we call ourselves, ‘HACsters.’ Some HACsters have been working in housing for more than four decades, while others have been at the organization for just a few weeks. Regardless of tenure, our passion for rural people and their communities feeds a determination to fight to improve living conditions for all Americans, no matter where they live.

David Lipsetz, President & CEO

David Lipsetz - HAC CEO

David Lipsetz

President and Chief Executive Officer

David Lipsetz is the President and CEO at the Housing Assistance Council (HAC) and a leading expert in affordable housing and sustainable community development. David came to HAC after holding several White House-appointed positions, most recently serving as the Associate Administrator for Rural Housing and Community Facilities at the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA.) His office oversaw policy development and program administration of more than $100 billion in direct lending, mortgage guarantees, grants and technical assistance for community and economic development in rural America.

Prior to USDA, David was at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD,) where he served as a Deputy Assistant Secretary and Senior Advisor for Public and Indian Housing, and as an Acting Chief of Staff to the Deputy Secretary. Prior to HUD, David managed policy, large-scale initiatives and organizational development for housing agencies in New York City and Oakland, CA. He also worked for the San Francisco Bay Area’s regional planning authority; and Dresden, Germany’s Institute for Ecological and Regional Development. His career began as a Legislative Assistant for domestic policy issues in the Office of U.S. Congressman John Dingell.

David was born and raised in Ohio. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Michigan State University, and Master’s degrees in Sociology and City and Regional Planning from the Ohio State University. He currently resides in Washington, DC with his wife and kids.

Contact David

Staff

HAC has a highly knowledgeable and experienced staff, well versed in housing, economic, and community development. HAC staff have extensive experience in including all aspects of federal housing programs, housing rehabilitation, program administration, economic development, cross-cutting regulations, project financing, financial management, infrastructure, construction, and organizational management.

Housing Assistance Council Staff

Addresses, phone and fax numbers, and e-mail addresses for HAC offices are available here.

Executive Office

David Lipsetz, CEO, david@ruralhome.org
Samantha Booth, Government Relations Manager, samantha@ruralhome.org
Jennifer McAllister, Development Manager, jennifer@ruralhome.org
Stephen Sugg, Special Projects Manager, stephen@ruralhome.org

Loan Fund

Eileen Neely, Director of Loan Fund, eileen@ruralhome.org
Kristin Blum, Senior Loan Officer, kristin@ruralhome.org
Jennifer Lam
, Portfolio Manager, jenniferl@ruralhome.org
Louis Marshall, Loan Processor, louis@ruralhome.org
Carlos Muralles, SHOP Program Manager, carlos@ruralhome.org

Research and Information

Lance George, Director of Research and Information, lance@ruralhome.org
Christina Davila, Research Associate,
christinad@ruralhome.org
Michael Feinberg,
Senior Policy Analyst,
michael@ruralhome.org
Isabella Green,
Stevenson Fellow,
isabella@ruralhome.org
Evelyn Immonen,
Research & Policy Associate, evelyn@ruralhome.org
Katie Starr, Emerson Hunger Fellow, katie@ruralhome.org
Dan Stern,
Communications and Outreach Manager, dan@rural home.org
Leslie Strauss, Senior Policy Analyst, leslie@ruralhome.org
Keith Wiley, Senior Research Associate, keith@ruralhome.org

Rural Housing Services, Inc.

Jorge Diaz, Portfolio Manager, jorge@ruralhome.org

Training and Technical Assistance

Southeast Office

Shonterria Charleston, Director of Training and Technical Assistance, shonterria@ruralhome.org
Christina Adeshakin, Housing Specialist, christina@ruralhome.org
Kelly Cooney, Housing Specialist, kelly@ruralhome.org

Southwest Office

Anselmo Telles, Senior Housing Specialist, anselmo@ruralhome.org

Midwest Office

Stephanie Nichols, CHDO Project Manager/Housing Specialist, stephanie@ruralhome.org
Vickey Stratton, Housing Specialist, vickey@ruralhome.org

Finance and Administration Division

Karin Klusmann, Director of Finance, karin@ruralhome.org
Alem Berhane, Managerial Accountant, alem@ruralhome.org
LaVerne Lawrence, Staff Accountant, laverne@ruralhome.org

If you have a general question or are not sure which office to contact, please contact only the National Office at hac@ruralhome.org and HAC staff will determine who is best able to respond to you. Sending e-mails to more than one address will slow down HAC’s response because staffers will have to take time asking each other who is going to respond.